top of page
Writer's pictureSinead

Anime Openings and Endings That You Need To Add To Your Playlist

By Sinead.


Anime openings. For me, it is what makes or breaks any anime. From the moment I start an anime, the opening has to grab my attention and leave me wanting more. Down to the visuals that tell a story, the catchy chorus that becomes embedded into my mind, and most importantly the way the lyrics reflect so perfectly onto the anime. These openings really do it all and leave no space for skips. And of course, we cannot forget about some of the most iconic endings that wrap up every episode flawlessly.

Attack on Titan

I had to start this list off with one of the most recognizable anime, which not only has one of the best storylines, it also has an incredible soundtrack to match. Season 1 starts off with the unforgettable “Guren No Yumiya” which is just honestly so enrapturing you’ll be screaming “YEAGER” at the start of every episode. Not to mention the gruesome visuals of titans and blood really brings it all together. Now compare the opening and the ending and we have the perfect balance of war and patriotism vs feelings of hope and sadness. But unfortunately, “Utsukushiki Zankokuna Sekai is highly slept on despite being the first ending to grace Attack on Titan.



My other two must listen to openings from Attack on Titan have to be “Jiyū no Tsubasa” & “Shinzou Wo Sasageyo”. These openings will make you want to enlist for a country that doesn’t even exist, its unhealthy how many times I’ve had these on repeat but Linked Horizon continuously hits the nail on the head.


We also absolutely can not forget these fantastic endings, with my two most listened songs being “Yuugure No Tori” & “Akatsuki No Requiem”.




Hunter X Hunter

An anime opening list just wouldn’t be complete without Hunter x Hunter’s masterpiece of an OST. The 148-episode anime takes us on an adventure with protagonist Gon and his best friend Killua as they become hunters, whilst in search of Gon’s father, encountering crazy obstacles in every arc. The opening theme song “Departure” is an outstanding example of something that will truly never get old. Even though the same song is used throughout the whole anime, hearing “Departure” is something I honestly can’t get enough of, and listening to it brings about so much mixed emotions within me.


We’re reminded of the series of bizarre tests Gon, Killua, Kurapika and Leorio face in the Hunter Exam Arc all the way to the gruesome Chimera Ant Arc, which still leaves shivers down my spine just thinking about it. Needless to say as great as the opening is the endings are just as exceptional, my two favorites being “Just Awake” & “HUNTING FOR YOUR DREAM”.




If the opening by itself doesn’t tell you why the Hunter X Hunter OST is literally cinematic, these endings will.

Just Awake” is such a nostalgic ending whereas “HUNTING FOR YOUR DREAM” is so hype and just an ultimate vibe. I honestly cannot get enough of everything about Hunter X Hunter, down to even the character’s themes songs are incredible, contemplating their personalities and backstories so well, with Killua’s theme “Ginpatsu No Shounen” being my favorite.


Jojo’s Bizzare Adventures

Jojo’s Bizarre Adventure has yet to come out with a bad opening or ending from season 1 when the first Joestar was introduced all the way to our fan-favorite Giorno Giovanna. Part 1 – Phantom Blood starts off with the most memorable opening to introduce the first Joestar protagonist, Jonathan. Many consider “JOJO Sono Chi No Sadame” to be the 'official' theme song and I’d be lying if I said I didn’t agree. 3D animation normally isn’t my favorite but Jojo manages to incorporate Araki’s intricate art style into impressive 3D panels.


The meaning behind the song captures Jonathan’s heart and willpower in defeating Dio and even though some Jojo watchers may choose to skip part 1 I strongly disagree. Not only is part 1 very important its also got an impressive opening to match.

My personal favourite opening is “Stand Proud” which is opening 1 of the Stardust Crusaders. Apart from being a high-key underrated opening, the Stardust Crusaders includes my ultimate favorite character Jotaro Kujo, so truthfully I just had to include this opening in my list. Very much like the first opening the use of 3D animation is prominent automatically putting it higher than the rest of the Jojo openings. Part 3 will always be one of the most significant parts with the opening taking you on an emotional adventure. Unlike other parts in Jojo, the Stardust Crusaders is said to have the most distressing story but pair it with adventure and action and it becomes an enjoyable anime with a great opening.



Haikyuu!!

Every time I listen to any Haikyuu opening I literally cannot describe the passion I feel behind it all. If you ask me I’m basically a team member of Karasuno at this point, especially when I'm listening to my absolute favorite opening “Phoenix”. I get goosebumps all the time and the opening just shows how far Karasuno has come and how much every single team has achieved.


I’m about to get a bit emotional but frankly, I have every reason to. The opening scene starting with Hinata on the ground then slowly rising up always gets me, because no matter how much or how hard he falls, he always manages to get back up. By season 4 I’m sure everyone already has some sort of unhealthy emotional attachment, especially manga readers and this opening went all out in highlighting that. Plus, along with the amazing progression of the art style, it's really something that should have absolutely no skips.


Another Haikyuu opening that leaves me in pure bliss is “Fly High” opening 4. This song made me fall in love with the anime as a whole and I kid you not whilst you’re listening you’ll see the whole story arc relay in your head and if that isn’t enough nostalgia I don’t know what is. Never did I think a volleyball anime would leave me this emotional but needless to say it did.



Honorable Mentions

If I had the time I’d write about how nearly every anime opening and ending in my playlist is off the charts but unfortunately I can’t, so here are some of the opening and endings I’m currently listening to on repeat.


Inferno” from the popular 2019-2020 anime Fire Force, has got to be on your anime playlist, the rhythm and melody goes absolutely crazy, not to mention the show itself is a pure gem.



Gurenge” from the anime Demon Slayer. The opening is beautiful and fits the theme of the anime so well. The message of passion, hope and adventure tying in perfectly. This opening is definitely one to have at the top of any playlist.



The ending “Prayer X” from Banana Fish. This ending is a constant reminder of why Banana Fish will remain to me as one of the intense anime I ever decided to watch. Each time I listen to this ending it just reminds me of how both of the young men - Ash & Eiji, found each other whilst being isolated and not fitting into society’s norms, coming together face both their own and each other’s challenges. Each character had their own unique and interesting backstory and that is what I loved the most. Knowing that such a sad and beautiful ending had equally beautifully written characters to go with it. A truly heart-breaking ending.


So this concludes the end of my post. A little reminder that all opinions are my own. I hope you guys can vibe with me and even add a few new songs to your own anime playlists.

65 views

Recent Posts

See All

Комментарии


bottom of page